The Daily Scribe

Thought Provoking Issues!

As I Lay You Down To Sleep . . .

with one comment

Now I lay me down to sleep is a classic 18th century children’s prayer. The original version has been revised a number of times to reflect a more positive outlook.

One of the variants:

Now I lay me down to sleep,

I pray the lord my soul to keep,

Thy angels watch me through the night,

And keep me safe till morning’s light.

Parents who put this little rhyme at the head of their baby’s crib would never for a moment think that the words had to been taken literally.

Such is the case if you’re the owner of a Jardine crib.

320,000 Jardine cribs manufactured in Taiwan by Jardine Enterprises are being recalled because of a gap that can trap and strangle infants.

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission issued the warning after four children became entrapped and two suffered abrasions and bruises. The commission has also chronicled 42 incidents of crib’s slats and spindle breaking, creating a gap, which poses an entrapment and strangulation hazard for infants.

The cribs are sold at Toys R Us, Babies R Us, Kidsworld and Geoffrey stores. The affected cribs were sold from January 2002 through May 2008. The recall includes different styles and finishes. A full recall listing can be found at jardinecribrecall.com.

The prices of the cribs range from $150 to $450.

A news released states that owners of this crib should stop using it immediately and contact Jardine Enterprises to receive a full credit towards the purchase of a new one.

Owners wanting more information can reach Jardine Enterprises at (800) 646-4106 or visit their Website.

Bradley Booth/Freelance Commercial Writer/Author

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Exceptional, I passed this on to a workmate of mine, and he actually bought me lunch because I found this for him, so let me rephrase: Thanks for lunch.

    Ted Cook

    March 1, 2010 at 11:48 am


Leave a Reply

