The Daily Scribe

Thought Provoking Issues!

A Matter of Inconvenience . . .

leave a comment »

I have a precocious seven-year-old daughter and a one-year-old Papillon. There were a lot of things on my agenda for this Saturday. I had planned on writing a few articles, writing a couple chapters for the novel I am working on, and promote the other one that was already published.

Needless to say my morning was devoted entirely to the things I wanted to get done. My wife on the other hand made plans unbeknownst to me that was completely different from mine.

My daughter had Taekwondo classes, which began at 10:30 a.m. and the puppy had an obedient class, which started promptly at eleven.

No doubt you could sense my frustration, since I felt my wife could have done both of these tasks. I thought of a myriad of excuses I could use, and how much of an inconvenience it would be to have my plans disrupted.

I often teased my wife that writing is not a spectator sport, and that is best done in the solitude of my den. This line of reasoning never sways her to see my point of view, and experience had taught me the futility of trying again.

I was still a bit perturbed when I arrived at my daughter’s class. I had a few minutes to spare and watched as an assistant put the children through their warm up exercises. My mood quickly improved as I noticed the fluidity in my daughter’s movements.

I wish I could have stayed and watched her some more, but I had to get to the puppy’s obedient class. While waiting for that class to commence, I took out my iPad to catch up on the latest news.

What I read had such a profound effect on me, it completely changed the way I will look at minor family annoyances and inconveniences going forward.

Julianne McCrery, 42, of Irving Texas, felt that her six-year-old son was unfit to be raised by anyone else. Although she characterized her son, Camden Hughes, as brilliant and beautiful, McCreary thought the child was a bit of an inconvenience.

Rather than give her son up for adoption, or perhaps another family member, McCreary suffocated him in a New Hampshire motel and left his body covered in a green blanket alongside a dirt road in Maine.

McCrery was sentenced on January 13, to 45 years in prison.

“I am sorry to have caused the intense pain and suffering to my precious son, Camden” McCrery said. “He did nothing whatsoever to deserve that by my hand, and he was not an inconvenience to me.”

Prosecutor’s said that they had evidence to repudiate McCrery’s claims that she had intended to commit a murder/suicide. They asserted that she planned to live her life after she killed her son.

Hughes’ body was found last May, and set off a nationwide attempt to identify him. While the search was underway, McCrery called her son’s school daily and claimed he was absent due to appendicitis.

McCrery told investigators that she knelt on top her son as he laid face-down on the hotel room floor and covered his mouth as he struggled to get free.

“It’s taken a while for my grief to fully unfold,” McCrery said, “but now it is excruciating.”

How could a mother do this to her own son?

I wondered how McCrery family members, especially her other son, on leave from the Navy, felt at the sentencing.

She simply had to reach out to one of them, and this tragic and senseless killing could have been avoided.

As for me, at the conclusion of my puppy’s obedient training, I drove to pick up my daughter from her Taekwondo class.

The way she rushed into my arms to greet me, I knew that I would never consider taking her to class or the little disturbances as she knocked on the door of my den, to be an inconvenience again.

Bradley Booth/Freelance Commercial Writer/Author

Leave a Reply

